CBS Health News

"Batkid" in California declared cancer-free

Five years ago, a cancer patient named Miles Scott dressed up as Bat Man -- and was treated to a special day in San Francisco. He's now 10 and his leukemia has been in remission for years and is now cancer free.

FDA seeks nationwide ban on menthol cigarettes

The Food and Drug Administration said it will seek a nationwide ban on menthol cigarettes. It also plans to put new restrictions on flavored e-cigarettes. CBS News chief medical correspondent Dr. Jon LaPook explains.

Why pancreatic cancer is so deadly

On World Pancreatic Cancer Awareness Day, advocates are working to bring attention to this especially deadly disease

How to manage the cost of supporting and caring for an elderly loved one

Caregiving for elderly Americans can be a huge expense in time and money for their loved ones. A new report shows 20 percent of all caregivers say they spend more than 40 hours a week providing that help. For many, that's about the equivalent of a full time job and close to eight in 10 pay for the costs out of their own pockets. CBS News business analyst Jill Schlesinger joins “CBS This Morning” to discuss why the burden of taking care of elderly loved ones tends to fall disproportionately on one family member and particularly women.

Local Weather